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Unclaimed Property Relating to Utility Companies – Reference Sheet 
 

Schedule of Events for Article IV and Section 1311 
July 1 Cut-off Date – if funds have become dormant in the year prior to this date, they should be 

included in this report cycle 
July 10 First-Class Mailing Completed 
August 10 Certified Mailing Completed 
August 31 Publication Notice Due 
September 10 Proof of Publication Due 

October 10 Final Report, Verification and Checklist and remittance received in our office by the close of 
business 

 

 

How to Report (due 10/10) – Include the following when reporting: 
 

1. Account details of the funds you are transferring in an approved format  
2. Remittance of cash 
3. Verification and Checklist (Electronic VCL or Form AC2709) 

 
 

Make sure the total 
amount is the same 
on all three parts 

 

 

Visit our website at: https://www.osc.ny.gov/unclaimed-funds/reporters for more details including forms and contact 
information. 
 

Applicable Property Types 
New York NAUPA II Property Type Description Dormancy 

Period 
5A UT01 Utility service deposit 2 years 
5B UT01 Advance payments for utility services not furnished 2 years 

5C UT03 
Refunds due on billing overcharges by utility companies 2 years 
Refunds due on tax overcharges by utility companies 1 year 

8X ZZZZ Late filing interest  
 

Account 
Details  

Remittance 
of Cash 

Verification 
& Checklist 

https://www.osc.ny.gov/unclaimed-funds/reporters
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Unclaimed Property Relating to Utility Companies 
This document is supplemental to the Handbook for Reporters of Unclaimed Funds and contains information which 
corresponds to Article IV and §1311 of New York’s Abandoned Property Law (APL). For more information, refer to 
Article IV and §1311 of the statute. 

This document includes the following sections: 

Unclaimed Property 

Statutory Considerations in Addition to Article IV and §1311 

Important Issues 

Publication 

Mailing Requirements 

Remittance 

Publication Sample 

Schedule of Events for Article IV and §1311 

 

  

https://www.osc.ny.gov/unclaimed-funds/reporters/handbook-reporters-unclaimed-funds
https://www.nysenate.gov/legislation/laws/ABP/A4
https://www.nysenate.gov/legislation/laws/ABP/1311


3 
 

Unclaimed Property 
Unclaimed property subject to Article IV of the Abandoned Property Law (APL) includes: 

• Deposits made to secure payment for utility services. 
• Amounts paid in anticipation of utility services being provided, which, in fact, are not provided. 
• Refunds of any excess charges. 

Coverage for erroneously collected tax or assessment monies for which the consumer was not liable is provided 
under §1311, which has a one-year dormancy period, unlike refunds due on overcharges provided under Article IV, 
which has a two-year dormancy period. 

 

Statutory Considerations in Addition to Article IV and Section 1311 

Due Diligence 

APL Section 1422 

The APL requires that, at least 90 days prior to 
submitting its final report, the holder send a notice by 
first-class mail to each owner whose name is 
expected to appear on the report unless the address 
for the owner is unknown or the holder can 
demonstrate that the address it maintains for the 
owner is not the owner’s current address.  

In addition, at least 60 days prior to submitting its final 
report, the holder must send a notice by certified mail 
(return receipt requested) to each owner whose name 
is expected to appear on that report with abandoned 
property valued in excess of $1,000 unless contact 
with the owner has been established, the first-class 
mailing was returned as undeliverable or the mailing 
address is outside the United States. 

Electronic Contact 

New York Codes, Rules and Regulations Title 2 Part 
125 

Certain types of electronic contact can be used to 
satisfy the written communication requirements in the 
APL to prevent the property from being deemed 
abandoned. This includes email communication from 
the entitled owner of the property that matches the 
registered email address on record with the holder or 
a verifiable login by the owner using a website or 
mobile application made available by the holder. 

Holders Not Authorized to Conduct 
Business in New York State 

APL Section 1312 

The APL extends statutory coverage to any utility 
company that: 

• Is chartered or organized in another state and 
not authorized to do business in New York. 

• Holds unclaimed property payable to a person 
whose last known address is within New York. 

Such reporting organizations are subject to the same 
statutory reporting requirements as organizations 
doing business in New York. However, the publication 
requirement does not apply. 

Other Property Types 
Utility companies are subject to other statutory 
requirements of the APL. Review the Law to 
determine if any apply to your organization. 

Unidentified and Unapplied Payments 

Unidentified and unapplied payments received by a 
utility company are reportable under §1315, which 
has a three-year dormancy period, as a credit balance 
under property type 5E/MS09. 

https://govt.westlaw.com/nycrr/Document/I10fe1a94f58411eda40fc3646cb5190d?viewType=FullText&originationContext=documenttoc&transitionType=CategoryPageItem&contextData=(sc.Default)
https://govt.westlaw.com/nycrr/Document/I10fe1a94f58411eda40fc3646cb5190d?viewType=FullText&originationContext=documenttoc&transitionType=CategoryPageItem&contextData=(sc.Default)
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Important Issues 

Excess Taxes 

The law requires you to report refunds of excess taxes. 

Interest 

Utility deposits accrue interest at a rate established by the Public Service Commission.  

 

Publication 
Article IV of the APL requires you to: 

• Publish a notice that abandoned property will be remitted to the State Comptroller. Do not include names, 
addresses, or amounts. The notice shall state that: 

o A report of unclaimed property has been compiled and will be sent to the State Comptroller and 
that a copy thereof is on file and open to public inspection at the principal office or place of 
business in any city, village, or county where such abandoned property is payable. 

o Such held properties will be paid to proven entitled parties by (reporter’s name) through September 
30. 

o On or before October 10, any remaining unclaimed properties will be forwarded to the State 
Comptroller. 

Publish: 

• On or before September 1. 
• Once in two newspapers published in the county where such deposits, payments or payments to be 

refunded were made. If there are fewer than two newspapers published in any such county, publish in an 
adjacent county. 

• In an English language newspaper, and any other newspaper that will substantially serve to inform the 
public of such abandoned property. 
 

File proof by affidavit of publication with the State Comptroller on or before September 10. Our preferred method is by 
email to NYSRPU@osc.ny.gov. 

You may not deduct publication costs from the value of the accounts being reported. This office advises not including 
additional details in the notice and using a readable font size for printing. 

  

mailto:NYSRPU@osc.ny.gov
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Mailing Requirements 

First-Class and Certified Mailings 
 
§1422 of the APL requires that all organizations do the following: 
 

• At least 90 days prior to their final report/remittance date, send a notice by first-class mail to each owner 
whose name is expected to appear on that report unless; 
o The owner address is unknown,  
o The holder can demonstrate that the address it maintains for the owner is not the owner’s current 

address, or 
 Note – if you use an address validation service and find a new address for the owner, you may 

send the notice to the new address but you should not change the original address on your report 
or books and records. 

o The items to be reported are valued at $20 or less and are being reported in the aggregate, in which 
case the owner’s name will not appear on the report, therefore mailing a notice is not required. 

 
And 
 

• At least 60 days prior to their final report/remittance date, send a notice by certified mail, return receipt 
requested, to each owner whose name is expected to appear on that report with abandoned property valued 
in excess of $1,000 unless; 
o Owner contact has been established, 
o The first-class mailing was returned as undeliverable, or 
o The last known address is outside of the United States. 

 
 
Costs 
 
You may deduct the mailing costs for certified mail. 
Deduct such charges from each item for which you 
are mailing the notice. You may not make a bulk 
deduction against the final remittance. The costs for 
completing the publication and first-class mailing 
requirements cannot be offset.  
 
Foreign address 
 
Exercise due caution in an attempt to contact entitled 
owners who reside in politically sensitive countries as 
defined by the U.S. Department of Treasury’s Office 
of Foreign Assets Control. Certified mailing 
requirements do not apply to residents of foreign 
countries. Address any questions pertaining to this 
subject to our Director of Audits. 

Multiple Items 
 
Where feasible, if you are reporting more than one 
item for the same owner, one letter should address all 
of the items you are reporting. 

 
Multiple Owners 
 
For cases in which multiple owners of an item have 
different addresses, you must send a notice to each 
owner. You may deduct the additional costs of mailing 
a certified notice to more than one address. 
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Remittance 
Submit your remittance at the time you file a report. The remittance should be equal to the sum of the values of the 
accounts being reported to the Office of the State Comptroller. Pay your remittance by electronic transfer or check. 

Electronic Funds Transfer 

Electronic funds transfer is available to make payment of the amount due for your report of abandoned property. Find 
instructions, including the account and routing number information on Electronic Funds Transfer Instructions. 

Checks 

Make checks payable to Comptroller, State of New York. You should mail it to the following address: 

New York State Office of the State Comptroller 
Office of Unclaimed Funds 
Remittance Control, 2nd Floor 
110 State Street 
Albany, NY 12236 

Include the letters ‘OUF’ and the Date/Time stamp in the memo and advice areas of your check if you sent your 
report account details using one of our electronic reporting methods. This will help us apply your funds correctly. 

In accordance with OUF’s internal control procedures, you should send all payments to the above address. At no time 
should you send any remittances to our New York City office. 

 
Publication Sample 

 
  

 

NOTICE OF UNCLAIMED PROPERTY HELD BY (name of utility, city of utility) 

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN pursuant to Section 402 of the Abandoned Property Law of 
the State of New York that 

a) a report of unclaimed amounts of money or other property held or owing by the above named 
corporation has been made to the Comptroller of the State of New York, and that a list of 
names of the persons appearing from the records of such corporation to be entitled thereto is 
on file and open to public inspection at its principal office or place of business in (name of 
city, village, or county) where any such property is payable; 

b) such deposits, payments, and refunds, together with interest due thereon and less lawful 
deductions, will be paid by it on or before the succeeding thirtieth day of September to 
persons establishing to its satisfaction their right to receive the same; and 

c) in the succeeding month of October, and on or before the tenth day thereof, such unclaimed 
deposits, payments, and refunds, together with interest due thereon and less lawful 
deductions, still remaining will be paid to the Comptroller of the State of New York and that it 
shall thereupon cease to be liable therefore. 

(Name of Utility) 
(Address of Utility) 

 

 

 

https://www.osc.ny.gov/unclaimed-funds/reporters/electronic-fund-transfer-instructions
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Schedule of Events for Article IV and Section 1311

July 1 

For the purposes of reporting abandoned property, a utility company’s year runs from July 2 through the following 
July 1. July 1 is the cut-off or ending date for the reporting period. Use it when identifying abandoned 
accounts/items. 

July 2 through August 1 

During this period, review your records and collect data related to any account/item that may be dormant and 
subject to reporting. 

If you have an account/item subject to reporting: 

• Update your report as necessary to reflect any activity that has occurred. 

• Compile the data in one of our reporting formats, so that you may submit it as your final report.  

If you do not find any items subject to reporting:  

• Keep a record of your review. 

• Do not send preliminary or negative (zero balance) reports. 

July 10 

By this date: 

• Send a notice by first-class mail to each person or entity whose name appears on your report of 
abandoned property and request a signed written statement from the owner that acknowledges the 
property’s existence. This requirement does not apply to those accounts that meet the exclusionary 
provisions of §1422. 

• Advise and educate internal staff about the due diligence notices for effective processing when the 
rightful owner contacts your organization. 

• Reactivate all accounts of owners who respond to the notice or otherwise establish contact. Do not 
include these accounts on your report. 

August 10 

By this date: 

• If an owner has not responded to the first-class mailing, or if the first-class mailing was not returned as 
undeliverable, and the value of all unclaimed property held for the owner exceeds $1,000, you are 
required to send a second notification via certified mail, return receipt requested, if the address for the 
owner is within the United States. 

o You may charge the cost of the certified mailing against the property’s value. 

• Reactivate all accounts of owners who respond to the mailing. Do not include these accounts on your 
report. 

o Note: we consider a return receipt to be customer contact if the receipt bears the signature of the 
account owner. Verify return receipt signatures against the other signature records you may have 
for an owner. 
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August 31 

By this date: 

• Publish a notice that abandoned property will be remitted to the State Comptroller. You may not deduct 
publication costs from the value of the accounts being reported. 

Article IV does not require publishing individual names, but instead requires publishing a general statement 
providing notice of the existence of abandoned property in a specific county. 

September 10 

By this date: 

• File proof of publication. Include an invoice, a copy of the advertisement and an affidavit. 

July 2 through September 30 

During this period: 

• Update your report as necessary to reflect any activity that has occurred. 
• Complete report removals based on any contact with owners. 

On or before October 10 

• Finalize the report. 

• Arrange for payment. 

• Submit the report, payment, and a new Verification and Checklist to be received in our office by the 
close of business on October 10. 
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