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Unclaimed Property Relating to Insurance Companies – Reference Sheet  

 

Schedule of Events for Article VII and Section 1316 
January 1 Cut-off date – if funds have become dormant in the year prior to this date, they should be 

included in this report cycle 
May 1 Publication notice completed 
May 10 Proof of publication is received in our office 
June 10 First-class mailing completed 
July 10 Certified mailing completed 

September 10 Final report, including owner details, remittance, and Verification and Checklist is received in 
our office 

 

How to Report (due 9/10) – Include the following when reporting: 

1. Account details of the funds you are transferring in an approved format  
2. Remittance of cash 
3. Verification and Checklist (Electronic VCL or Form AC2709) 

 
  
 Make sure the total 
 amount is the same
 on all three parts 
 
 
 
 
Visit our website at: https://www.osc.ny.gov/unclaimed-funds/reporters for more details including forms and contact 
information. 

 

Applicable Property Types 

New York NAUPA II Property Type Description Dormancy 
Period 

5D IN01 Refunds due by insurance companies 3 years 
6A IN77 Limiting age (superannuated) contracts None  
6B IN04 Matured endowments 3 years 
6C IN03 Death claims 3 years  
6D IN01 Amounts due under policies of insurance other than life 3 years 
6E IN07 Refunds and other amounts due under policy terms 3 years 
6F IN04 Annuities 3 years  

6G IN12 Retained Asset Accounts, Benefits Access Accounts or similar 
distribution accounts 3 years 

8X ZZZZ Late filing interest  
 
 
  

Account 
Details  

Remittance 
of Cash 

Verification 
& Checklist 

https://www.osc.ny.gov/unclaimed-funds/reporters
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Unclaimed Property Relating to Insurance Companies 
This document is supplemental to the Handbook for Reporters of Unclaimed Funds and contains information which 
corresponds to Article VII and §1316 of New York’s Abandoned Property Law (APL). For more information, refer to 
Article VII and §1316 of the statute. 

This document includes the following sections:  

Unclaimed Property 

Statutory Considerations in Addition to Article VII and §1316 

Important Issues 

Publication  

Mailing Requirements 

Remittance 

Publication Sample 

Schedule of Events for Article VII and §1316 

https://www.osc.ny.gov/unclaimed-funds/reporters/handbook-reporters-unclaimed-funds
https://www.nysenate.gov/legislation/laws/ABP/A7
https://www.nysenate.gov/legislation/laws/ABP/1316
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Unclaimed Property 
Unclaimed property subject to Article VII of the APL includes: 

• Matured endowments. 
• Life insurance proceeds when the insured reached the limiting age. 
• Death benefits. 
• Policy dividends, distributions, and refunds. 
• Annuity payments. 

Statutory coverage is provided in §1316 for all types of insurance proceeds other than life, including but not limited to 
amounts on: 

• Health insurance. 
• Property/Casualty insurance (Fire, Home, Liability, etc.). 

 

Statutory Considerations in Addition to Article VII and Section 1316 

Deceased Owners 

New York Codes, Rules and Regulations Title 2 Part 
126.1 

The confirmed date of death of an owner begins the 
applicable dormancy period. If you receive notice or 
indication, within the ordinary course of business, that 
the property owner is deceased, you must attempt to 
confirm the owner’s death within 90 days. If you 
obtain confirmation, the dormancy period begins on 
the date of death. Record the date of this 
notification/confirmation. 
Due Diligence 

APL Section 1422 

The APL requires that, at least 90 days prior to 
submitting its final report, the holder send a notice by 
first-class mail to each owner whose name is 
expected to appear on the report unless the address 
for the owner is unknown or the holder can 
demonstrate that the address it maintains for the 
owner is not the owner’s current address.  

In addition, at least 60 days prior to submitting its final 
report, the holder must send a notice by certified mail 
(return receipt requested) to each owner whose name 
is expected to appear on that report with abandoned 
property valued in excess of $1,000 unless contact 
with the owner has been established, the first-class 
mailing was returned as undeliverable or the mailing 
address is outside the United States. 

Electronic Contact  

New York Codes, Rules and Regulations Title 2 Part 
125 

Certain types of electronic contact can be used to 
satisfy the written communication requirements in the 
APL to prevent the property from being deemed 
abandoned. This includes email communication from 
the entitled owner of the property that matches the 
registered email address on record with the holder or 
a verifiable login by the owner using a website or 
mobile application made available by the holder. 

Holders Not Authorized to Conduct 
Business in New York State 

APL Section 1312 

The APL extends statutory coverage to any insurance 
company that: 

• Is chartered or organized in another state and 
not authorized to do business in New York. 

• Holds unclaimed property payable to a person 
whose last known address is within New York. 

Such reporting organizations are subject to the same 
statutory reporting requirements as organizations 
doing business in New York. However, the publication 
requirement does not apply. 

Other Property Types 
Insurance companies are subject to other statutory 
requirements of the APL. Review the Law to 
determine if any apply to your organization. 

  

https://govt.westlaw.com/nycrr/Document/I19bfc0e249ff11efa158d3c9388fb8a7?viewType=FullText&originationContext=documenttoc&transitionType=CategoryPageItem&contextData=(sc.Default)
https://govt.westlaw.com/nycrr/Document/I19bfc0e249ff11efa158d3c9388fb8a7?viewType=FullText&originationContext=documenttoc&transitionType=CategoryPageItem&contextData=(sc.Default)
https://govt.westlaw.com/nycrr/Document/I10fe1a94f58411eda40fc3646cb5190d?viewType=FullText&originationContext=documenttoc&transitionType=CategoryPageItem&contextData=(sc.Default)
https://govt.westlaw.com/nycrr/Document/I10fe1a94f58411eda40fc3646cb5190d?viewType=FullText&originationContext=documenttoc&transitionType=CategoryPageItem&contextData=(sc.Default)
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Section 3214 of New York’s Insurance Law 

Amounts reportable as abandoned property pursuant 
to §700.1(a) (matured endowments) and §700.1(c) 
(proceeds of death claims) include statutory interest 
payable as provided in §3214 of New York’s 

Insurance Law. Interest is to be credited from the date 
of maturity of an endowment contract, or from the 
date of death of the insured, until the date these are 
reported as abandoned property. Interest and 
principal amounts are then reported as abandoned 
property together. 

 
Important Issues 
 
Beneficiary Information 
 
With respect to insurance/annuity proceeds payable 
upon the death of the insured, the report should 
include identifying information for both the insured 
and the beneficiary. 
 
Drafts 
 
§1316 does not apply to amounts that the insurance 
company can prove are offers unaccepted by payee 
(the obligation is not liquidated), to settle a claim prior 
to establishment of liability under the terms of its 
policies. The issue of “drafts” is complex and you 
should consult our legal staff. 
 
Group Insurance Policies 
 
Article VII and §1316 apply to unclaimed amounts on 
group plans established as employee benefits.  
 
Insurers Not Doing Business in New York 
State 
 
Article VII and §1316 apply to all insurance 
companies, including insurers not doing business in 
New York but holding unclaimed amounts due to a 
New York resident. Reinsurers are subject to the 
same requirements as insurers. 
 
Tax Deferred Accounts (i.e.: IRAs, ROTH 
IRAs, Coverdell Education Savings (ESA)) 
 
Traditional IRAs, Roth IRAs, ESAs, or other accounts 
that are qualified for tax deferral under the US income 
tax laws are reportable as abandoned property on the 
next report cycle following the mandatory distribution 
date, as prescribed by IRS guidelines, in the absence 
of contact/activity within the last three years from the 
account owner, unless the account is in distribution. If 
the account is in distribution, a three-year dormancy 
applies. If you cannot reasonably obtain the owner’s 
date of birth, for ESA accounts use the account 
opening date as the owner’s date of birth and for an 
IRA presume the owner was 21 on the day the 
account was open. 
 
In reporting, use property types that reflect the nature 
of the account. For example, use 6F/IN04 if the 

proceeds had been held in a trading or investment 
account. In the Date field, enter the date the owner 
reached the mandatory distribution age, as prescribed 
by the IRS. In the Description of Security field enter 
IRA. This clarifies that you are not reporting the 
account prematurely.  
 
If securities are liquidated to comply with the IRS 
guidelines, report the remaining securities as shares 
and residual cash on a separate line for each owner. 
Include “IRA distribution withholding” in the 
Description of Security field. 
 
While a Roth IRA is not subject to mandatory 
distribution rules during the original owner’s lifetime, 
confusion may nonetheless exist among both the 
public and the holder community as to the proper 
treatment of the APL. For the purpose of consistency, 
OUF will not penalize reporting organizations for 
treating a Roth IRA in the same manner as the 
traditional IRA. 
 
Pension Payments 
 
Article VII and §1316 do not apply to pension 
payments. Such payments are reportable by the 
corporation, which offers the pension plan under the 
definition of wages. Refer to the General Corporations 
document. 
 
Reporting Residency Requirements 
 
Article VII and §1316 require reporting amounts owed 
to New York residents. If you cannot determine the 
address of the person apparently entitled to proceeds 
under Article VII or if you are uncertain which person 
is entitled to the funds, presume that the last known 
address of the entitled person is the same as the last 
known address of the insured, according to the 
insurance company’s records. Furthermore, Article VII 
requires that insurers organized under New York laws 
report amounts held for unknowns. Under the 
provisions of §1316, amounts held by a New York 
incorporated insurance company for individuals 
whose last known address is unknown are also 
reportable to New York.  
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Retained Asset Accounts 
 
Many insurance companies provide for payment 
distributions on life insurance policies in the form of a 
Retained Asset Account (RAA) option. Payment into 
an RAA is considered an insurance distribution. A 
three-year dormancy period applies from the date of 
distribution or written contact with the 
beneficiary/recipient, whichever is later. Property type 
6G/IN12 was established for RAAs to differentiate 
these accounts from other types of policy 
distributions. If your organization is holding any 
dormant RAAs and has not reported them in previous 
years, contact us to file a voluntary compliance report. 

If your company has already been reporting these 
accounts to New York, ensure these accounts are 
reported separately using property type 6G/IN12. 
 
Two-Party Checks 
 
Proceeds of “insurance other than life,” payable to the 
insured and another person, who is not insured under 
the policy, are also abandoned property. Both names 
should be included on the report with an indication 
regarding both payees in the report details.

 
 

 

Publication 
The law requires you to: 

 
• Publish a notice of unclaimed property that consists of the names and last known addresses, sorted 

alphabetically by last name, of all persons appearing to be entitled to abandoned property amounting to fifty 
dollars or more. The notice shall state that: 
 
o A report of unclaimed amounts of money or other property has been made to the State Comptroller and 

that a listing of names of persons appearing to be entitled is on file and open to public inspection at 
(insurance company name). 

o Such held amounts of money or other property will be paid or delivered to proven entitled parties by 
(insurance company name) through August 31. 

o On or before September 10, any remaining unclaimed monies or other properties will be paid or 
delivered to the State Comptroller. 

 

Publish: 

• On or before May 1. 
• In the county in which the last known address of the policyholder is located or the adjacent county if no 

newspaper is published in such county. 
• In a newspaper printed in English and any other newspaper that will substantially serve to inform the public 

of such abandoned property. 

File proof by affidavit of publication with the State Comptroller on or before May 10. Our preferred method is by email 
to NYSRPU@osc.ny.gov. 

Publications should be in English. The cost of subsequent publications is not deductible. This office advises not 
including additional details in the notice and using a readable font size for printing. 

  

mailto:NYSRPU@osc.ny.gov
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Items to Disqualify 
When determining what items to publish, disqualify any items for which one of the following is true: 

• The item value is less than $50. 
• You do not have an address on record, or the address is in a foreign country. 

After applying the above criteria, disqualify all items if: 

Payable: and Sum of the value of all advertised 
items is less than: 

Within a New York City county (New York, 
Kings, Queens, Richmond, or Bronx)  

 
$10,000  

In a county outside of New York City  
 

$2,500  

 

You should publish any items remaining after disqualifications. Remember to only list an individual’s name once. 
You may request a waiver from the publication requirements if the estimated cost of the publication will exceed 
20% of the value of the property. The cost estimate for the publication must be included with the waiver request 
form. See 2 NYCRR §117 for further information.  

Allocation of Publication Costs 
Allocate publication costs on a pro rata basis. Use one of the following methods to allocate cost to items published; 
both will yield the correct allocation amount. You may not make a bulk deduction for the publication against the total 
value of the report. 

Percentage Method 

Divide the amount of the item you are publishing by the total amount of the items you are publishing in that county 
and multiply the quotient by the total advertising expense. 

For example: You are publishing a $100 item along with other items (in the same county). The total for all items is 
$10,000, and the total advertising expense for this county is estimated at $50. 

$     100 
$10,000 

 .010 x $50 = $0.50 

The cost allocated to the $100 item would then be $0.50. 

Cost Per Dollar Method 

Divide the estimated total advertising expense for a particular county by the total amount of the items to be published 
in that county. The resulting percentage is then multiplied by the face value of the item being advertised to determine 
the amount of advertising charges to be applied to that item. 

Using the example above, the calculation is: 

$       50 
$10,000 

 .005 x $100 = $0.50 

Regardless of the method applied, the publication cost you could deduct is $0.50. 

 

https://www.osc.ny.gov/files/unclaimed-funds/reporters/pdf/waiver-request.pdf
https://www.osc.ny.gov/files/unclaimed-funds/reporters/pdf/waiver-request.pdf
https://govt.westlaw.com/nycrr/Document/I4e1f02e8cd1711dda432a117e6e0f345?viewType=FullText&originationContext=documenttoc&transitionType=CategoryPageItem&contextData=(sc.Default)
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Mailing Requirements 

First-Class and Certified Mailings 
§1422 of the APL requires that all organizations do the following: 

• At least 90 days prior to their final report/remittance date, send a notice by first-class mail to each owner 
whose name is expected to appear on that report unless: 
o The owner address is unknown, 
o The holder can demonstrate that the address it maintains for the owner is not the owner’s current 

address, or 
 Note – if you use an address validation service and find a new address for the owner, you may 

send the notice to the new address but you should not change the original address on your report 
or books and records. 

o The items to be reported are valued at $20 or less and are reported in the aggregate, in which case the 
owner’s name will not appear on the report; therefore mailing a notice is not required. 

And 

• At least 60 days prior to their final report/remittance date, send a notice by certified mail, return receipt 
requested, to each owner whose name is expected to appear on that report with abandoned property valued 
in excess of $1,000 unless: 
o Owner contact has been established, 
o The first-class mailing was returned as undeliverable, or 
o The last known address is outside of the United States. 

 

Costs 
You may deduct the mailing costs for certified mail. 
Deduct such charges from each item for which you 
are mailing the notice, or one item if you are rolling 
similar items for a specific owner into one item. You 
may not make a bulk deduction against the final 
remittance. The costs for completing the first-class 
mailing requirements cannot be offset.  

Foreign Address 
Exercise due caution in attempting to contact entitled 
owners who reside in politically sensitive countries as 
defined by the U.S. Department of Treasury’s Office 
of Foreign Assets Control. Certified mailing 
requirements do not apply to residents of foreign 
countries. Address any questions pertaining to this 
subject to our Director of Audits.

Multiple Items 
Where feasible, if you are reporting more than one 
item for the same owner, one letter should address all 
of the items you are reporting.  

Multiple Owners 
For cases in which multiple owners of an item have 
different addresses, you must send a notice to each 
owner. You may deduct the additional costs of 
mailing a certified notice to more than one address. 
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Remittance 
Submit your remittance at the time you file a report. The remittance should be equal to the sum of the values of the 
accounts being reported to the Office of the State Comptroller. Pay your remittance by electronic transfer or check. 

Electronic Funds Transfer 
Electronic funds transfer is available to make payment of the amount due for your report of abandoned property. Find 
instructions including the account and routing number information in the Electronic Funds Transfer Instructions. 

Checks 

Make checks payable to Comptroller, State of New York. You should mail it to the following address: 

New York State Office of the State Comptroller 
Office of Unclaimed Funds 
Remittance Control, 2nd floor 
110 State Street 
Albany, NY 12236 

Include the letters ‘OUF’ and the Date/Time stamp in the memo and advice areas of your check if you sent your 
report account details using one of our electronic reporting methods. This will help us apply your funds correctly. 

In accordance with OUF’s internal control procedures, send all payments to the above address. Do not send any 
checks to our New York City office. 
 

Publication Sample 
 

NOTICE OF NAMES OF PERSONS APPEARING AS OWNERS OF CERTAIN UNCLAIMED PROPERTY 
HELD BY [name of insurance company].  

The following persons appear from our records to be entitled to unclaimed property consisting of cash 
amounts of fifty dollars or more:  

Hill, Joseph  
5897 Truman Blvd., Troy, NY 12180  

Hoffman, Ada E.  
Rte. 20, Albany, NY 12212  

Richmond Savings Bank  
257-03 Hillside Avenue, Albany, NY 12211 

Simpson, Robert  
1138 Clinton St., Schenectady, NY 12301  

Walsh, David  
714 Washington Ave, Albany, NY 12205  

A report of Unclaimed Property will be made to the Comptroller of the State of New York, pursuant to Article 
VII and/or Section 1316 of the Abandoned Property Law. A list of the names contained in such notice is on 
file and open to public inspection at the principal office of the insurance company, located at [address of 
insurance company], where such abandoned property is payable. Such abandoned property will be paid on 
or before August 31 next to persons establishing to its satisfaction their right to receive the same. In the 
succeeding September, and on or before the tenth day thereof, such unclaimed property will be paid to the 
Comptroller of the State of New York, and shall thereupon cease to be liable therefore. 

 

  

https://www.osc.ny.gov/unclaimed-funds/reporters/electronic-fund-transfer-instructions
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Schedule of Events for Article VII and Section 1316 

January 1 

For the purposes of reporting abandoned property, an insurance company’s year runs from January 2 through 
January 1. January 1 is the cut-off date for all policies. Use it when identifying abandoned insurance 
accounts/items. 

January 2 through May 1 
During this period, review your records and collect data related to any account/item that may be dormant and 
subject to reporting. 

If you find accounts/items subject to reporting: 

• Update your report as necessary to reflect any activity that has occurred. 

• Compile the data in one of our reporting formats, so that you may submit it as your final report.  

If you do not find any items subject to reporting: 

• Keep a record of your review. 

• Do not send preliminary or negative (zero balance) reports. 

May 1 

By this date: 

• Publish items from your report. You may deduct publication costs from the account’s value. 

May 10 
By this date: 

• File proof of publication. Include an invoice, a copy of the advertisement and an affidavit. 

May 11 through August 31 
During this period: 

• Deduct publication charges. 

• Complete report removals based on any contact with owners. 

June 10 
By this date: 

• Send a notice by first-class mail to each person or entity whose name appears on your report of 
abandoned property and request a signed written statement from the owner that acknowledges the 
property’s existence. This requirement does not apply to those accounts that meet the exclusionary 
provisions of §1422.  

• Advise and educate internal staff about the due diligence notices for effective processing when the 
rightful owner contacts your organization. 

• Reactivate all accounts of owners who respond to the notice or otherwise establish contact. Do not 
include these accounts on your report. 
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July 10 

By this date: 

• If an owner has not responded to the first-class mailing, or if the first-class mailing was not returned as 
undeliverable, and the value of all unclaimed property held for the owner exceeds $1,000, you are 
required to send a second notification via certified mail, return receipt requested, if the address for the 
owner is within the United States. 

o You may charge the cost of the certified mailing against the property’s value. 

• Reactivate all accounts of owners who respond to the mailing. Do not include these accounts on your 
report. 

o Note: we consider a return receipt to be customer contact if the receipt bears the signature of the 
account owner. Verify return receipt signatures against the other signature records you may have 
for the owner. 

On or before September 10 

• Finalize the report. 

• Arrange for payment. 

• Report, payment, and a Verification and Checklist to be received in our office by the close of business 
on September 10. 
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