
Unclaimed Child Support or Combined Child and Spousal Support– Reference 
Sheet 
 

Schedule of Events for Section 1318 

January 1 Cut-off date – if funds have become dormant in the year prior to this date, they should be 
included in this report cycle 

January 10 First-class mailing completed 

February 10 Certified mailing completed 

April 10 Final report, Verification and Checklist and remittance received in our office by the close of 
business 

 

How to Report (due 4/10) - Include the following when reporting: 
 

1. Account details of the funds you are transferring in an approved format.  
2. Remittance of cash. 
3. Verification and Checklist (Electronic VCL or Form AC2709). 

 

Make sure the total 
amount is the same 
on all three parts 

 
 
 
Visit our website at: https://www.osc.ny.gov/unclaimed-funds/reporters for more details, including forms and contact 
information. 
 

Applicable Property Types 
New York NAUPA II Property Type Description Dormancy Period 

7C CT06 Funds for support of a child or spouse 2 years 
8X ZZZZ Late filing interest  

 

Account 
Details  

Remittance 
of Cash 

Verification 
& Checklist 

https://www.osc.ny.gov/unclaimed-funds/reporters


Unclaimed Child Support or Combined Child and Spousal Support 
This document is supplemental to the Handbook for Reporters of Unclaimed Funds and contains information which 
corresponds to §1318 of New York’s Abandoned Property Law (APL) and §111-h of New York’s Social Services Law 
(SSL). For more information refer to the following statutes: §1318 of the APL and SSL §111-h. 

This document includes the following sections: 

Unclaimed Property 

Statutory Considerations in Addition to APL §1318 and SSL §111-h 

Important Issues 

Mailing Requirements 

Remittance 

Schedule of Events for APL §1318 
 

https://www.osc.ny.gov/unclaimed-funds/reporters/handbook-reporters-unclaimed-funds
https://www.nysenate.gov/legislation/laws/ABP/1318


Unclaimed Property 
Property subject to the reporting requirements of APL §1318 and SSL §111-h includes funds collected by a Support 
Collection Unit (SCU) for: 

• Child support; or 

• Combined child and spousal support. 

Any money paid into an SCU which has remained undisbursed for two years is deemed abandoned and reportable to 
the Comptroller’s Office. Accordingly, it is the date the monies were due to be disbursed which commences the two-
year dormancy period. Additional deposits to the account holding the funds does not extend the dormancy period. 

However, where an SCU determines that the person entitled to such funds is deceased and can’t locate the estate for 
such person, or the estate doesn’t claim the funds, the funds may be reported directly to the Comptroller’s Office 
without waiting two years. Where the remitter of the funds has not provided information to permit the SCU to 
determine the identity of the entitled party after diligent efforts, the funds shall be reported to the Comptroller’s Office. 

 

Statutory Considerations in Addition to APL Section 1318 and SSL Section 111-h

Due Diligence 

APL Section 1422 – Funds With Identifying 
Information 

The APL requires that, at least 90 days prior to your 
final report, a notice be sent by first-class mail to each 
person whose name is expected to appear on the 
report. In addition, at least 60 days prior to your final 
report, a notice must be sent by certified mail, return 
receipt requested, to each person whose name is 
expected to appear on the report whose unclaimed 
funds is valued in excess of $1,000 unless a claim 
has been initiated since the first-class mailing was 
sent, or the first-class mailing was returned as 
undeliverable. Certified mailing requirements do not 
apply to residents of foreign countries.  

SSL Section 111-h –Funds Without Identifying 
Information  

The SSL provides that, when unclaimed funds do not 
have sufficient identifying information to associate the 
funds with an existing or previously existing child 
support account and the information cannot be 
determined after diligent efforts, SCUs shall turn the 
funds over to the Comptroller’s Office. Additionally, 
when an owner is known to be deceased and the 
estate can’t be located, or the estate does not claim 
the funds, the funds may be reported without waiting 
two years. 

Electronic Contact  

2 NYCRR § 125.1 

Certain types of electronic contact can be used to 
satisfy the written communication requirements in the 
APL to prevent the property from being deemed 
abandoned. This includes email communication from 
the entitled owner of the property that matches the 
registered email address on record, or a verifiable 
login using a website or mobile application made 
available by the holder to satisfy the written 
communication requirements in the APL which 
prevent the property from being deemed abandoned.  

Support Collection Units Administrative 
Directive 

SCUs can also find guidance on the transfer of 
unclaimed funds to the Comptroller’s Office in 
Administrative Directive 21-ADM-08. SCUs must 
contact their Division of Child Support Services 
County Representative with questions about these 
funds. Questions about completing the unclaimed 
funds report may also be directed to 
NYSRPU@osc.ny.gov. 

 

  

https://govt.westlaw.com/nycrr/Document/I10fe1a94f58411eda40fc3646cb5190d?viewType=FullText&originationContext=documenttoc&transitionType=CategoryPageItem&contextData=(sc.Default)
https://otda.ny.gov/policy/directives/2021/ADM/21-ADM-08.pdf
mailto:NYSRPU@osc.ny.gov


Important Issues  

Child Support Account Number 

Enter the Child Support Account Number (i.e. New York Case Identifier) or check number in the Account Number or 
Property ID field. 

Dormancy Date 

Start the dormancy period on the date the property should have been disbursed and include the date in the 
Dormancy Date field on the report. Note any other pertinent additional information, such as the date the funds were 
received, in the Security Description field on the report. 

Mailing Requirements 

First Class and Certified Mailings 
Section 1422 of the APL requires that all organizations do the following: 

• At least 90 days prior to their final report/remittance date, send a notice by first-class mail to each owner 
whose name is expected to appear on that report unless: 

o The owner address is unknown, 
o The holder can demonstrate that the address it maintains for the owner is not the owner’s current 

address, or 
 Note – if you use an address validation service and find a new address for the owner, you 

may send the mailing to the new address, but you should not change the original address 
on your report or books and records. 

 The items to be reported are valued at $20 or less and are reported in the aggregate, in 
which case the owner’s name will not appear on the report, therefore mailing a notice is 
not required. 

• Truly unknown – when the unit wants to use aggregate reporting, obtain OTDA 
approval prior to reporting. 

And 

• At least 60 days prior to their final report/remittance date, send a notice by certified mail, return receipt 
requested, to each owner whose name is expected to appear on that report with abandoned property valued 
in excess of $1,000 unless: 

o Owner contact has been established, 
o The first-class mailing was returned as undeliverable, or 
o The last known address is outside of the United States. 

 
Foreign Addresses 

Exercise due caution in attempting to contact entitled 
owners who reside in politically sensitive countries as 
defined by the U.S. Department of Treasury’s Office 
of Foreign Assets Control. Certified mailing 
requirements do not apply to residents of foreign 
countries. Address any questions pertaining to this 
subject to our Director of Audits. 

Multiple Items 
Where feasible, if you are reporting more than one 
item for the same owner, one letter should address 
all the items you are reporting. 

Multiple Owners 
For cases in which multiple owners of an item have 
different addresses, you must send a letter to each 
owner.  



Remittance 

Submit your remittance at the time you file a report. The remittance should be equal to the sum of the values of the 
accounts being reported to the Office of the State Comptroller. Pay your remittance by electronic transfer or check. 

Electronic Funds Transfer 
Electronic funds transfer is available to make payment of the amount due for your report of abandoned property. Find 
instructions including the account and routing number information in the Electronic Funds Transfer Instructions. 

Checks 

Make checks payable to Comptroller, State of New York. You should mail it to the following address: 

New York State Office of the State Comptroller 
Office of Unclaimed Funds 
Remittance Control, 2nd floor 
110 State Street 
Albany, NY 12236 

Include the letters ‘OUF’ and the Date/Time stamp in the memo and advice areas of your check if you sent your 
report account details using one of our electronic reporting methods. This will help us apply your funds correctly. 

In accordance with OUF’s internal control procedures, send all checks to the above address. Do not send any checks 
to our New York City office. 

 

Schedule of Events for Section 1318  

January 1 

For the purposes of reporting abandoned property, an SCU’s year runs from January 2 through the following 
January 1. January 1 is the cut-off or ending date for the reporting period. Use it when identifying abandoned 
accounts/items. 

January 2 through January 31 

During this period, review your records and collect data related to any account/item that may be dormant and 
subject to reporting. 

If you find accounts/items subject to reporting: 

• Update your report as necessary to reflect any activity that has occurred. 
• Compile the data in one of our reporting formats, so that you may submit it as your final report.  

If you do not find any items subject to reporting: 

• Keep a record of your review. 
• Do not send preliminary or negative (zero balance) reports. 

January 10 

By this date: 

• Send a notice by first-class mail to each person or entity whose name appears on your report of 
abandoned property and request a signed written statement from the owner that acknowledges the 
property’s existence. This requirement does not apply to those accounts that meet the exclusionary 
provisions of §1422. 

• Advise and educate internal staff about the due diligence notices for effective processing when the 
rightful owner contacts an SCU. 

• Reactivate all accounts of owners who respond to the mailing, or reissue appropriate disbursement 
checks. Do not include these accounts on your report.  

https://www.osc.ny.gov/unclaimed-funds/reporters/electronic-fund-transfer-instructions


February 10 

By this date: 

• If an owner has not responded to the first-class mailing, or the first-class mailing was not returned as 
undeliverable and the value of all unclaimed funds held for the owner exceeds $1,000, send a second 
notification via certified mail, return receipt requested, if the address for the owner is within the United 
States. 

• Reactivate all accounts of owners who respond to the mailing. Do not include these accounts on your 
report.  
o Note: we consider a return receipt to be owner contact if the receipt bears the signature of the 

account owner. Verify return receipt signatures against the other signature records you may have 
for the owner. 

February 11 through March 31 

During this period: 

• Update your report as necessary to reflect any activity that has occurred. 
• Complete report removals based on contact with owners. 

On or before April 10 

• Finalize the report. 
• Arrange for payment. 
• Report, payment, and a Verification and Checklist to be received in our office by the close of business 

on April 10. 
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