
Unclaimed Property Relating to Brokers and Dealers – Reference Sheet 

Schedule of Events for Article V-A 
December 10 First-class mailing completed 

December 31 Cut-off date – if funds have become dormant in the year prior to this date, they should 
be included in this report cycle 

January 10 Certified mailing completed 

March 10 Final report, including owner details, remittance, and Verification and Checklist is 
received in our office 

 

How to Report (due 3/10) - Include the following when reporting: 
 

1. Account details of the funds you are transferring in an approved format  
2. Remittance of cash and/or securities 
3. Verification and Checklist (Electronic VCL or Form AC2709)  

 

Make sure the total 
amount is the same 
on all three parts 

 
 
 
Visit our website at: https://www.osc.ny.gov/unclaimed-funds/reporters for more details including forms and contact 
information. 
 
Applicable Property Types 
New York NAUPA II Property Type Description Dormancy 

Period 

1I SC20 
Credit balances in trading and investment accounts with trusts, 
brokers, investment firms, etc., including outstanding checks issued 
to customers 

3 years  

4A TR02 Cash over receipts (dividends and other) 3 years 
4B SC07 Bond interest over receipts  3 years 
4C  SC70 Stock over receipts (dividends and other) – cash 3 years 
4D SC15 Other over receipts 3 years  

4E SC70 Unidentified overages  3 years  

4F SC70 Other distributions resulting from ownership interest or debt 
obligation – cash  

3 years  

4P SC70 Stock over receipts (dividends and other) – shares  3 years  

4Q SC15 Other over receipts – shares 3 years  

4R SC70 Unidentified overages – shares  3 years  

4S SC70 Other distributions resulting from ownership interest or debt 
obligation – shares 

3 years  

8A MS01 Wages, payroll, salaries, commissions, pension payments 3 years  

8F SC70 Securities long in customers’ trading, investment, or trust accounts  3 years  

8P SC70 Securities long in customers’ trading, investment, or trust accounts 
– shares 

3 years  

8X ZZZZ Late filing interest  
 

  

Account 
Details  

Remittance 
of Cash and/ 
or Securities 

Verification 
& Checklist 

https://www.osc.ny.gov/unclaimed-funds/reporters


Unclaimed Property Relating to Brokers and Dealers 
This document is supplemental to the Handbook for Reporters of Unclaimed Funds and contains information which 
corresponds to Article V-A of New York’s Abandoned Property Law (APL). For more information, refer to Article V-A 
of the statute. 

This document includes the following sections: 

Unclaimed Property 

Statutory Considerations in Addition to Article V-A 

Important Issues 

Mailing Requirements 

Remittance 

Security Delivery Instructions 

Schedule of Events for Article V-A 
 

https://www.osc.ny.gov/unclaimed-funds/reporters/handbook-reporters-unclaimed-funds
https://www.nysenate.gov/legislation/laws/ABP/A5-A


Unclaimed Property 
Unclaimed property subject to Article V-A of the APL includes dormant customer accounts, uncashed checks, and 
wages. If the broker or dealer is incorporated in New York State, overpayment amounts and securities held for 
unknown owners are also subject to the statute. There are specific record retention requirements for brokers and 
dealers. 

Statutory Considerations in Addition to Article V-A

Due Diligence 
APL Section 1422 

The APL requires that, at least 90 days prior to 
submitting its final report, the holder send a notice by 
first-class mail to each owner whose name is 
expected to appear on that report unless the address 
for the owner is unknown or the holder can 
demonstrate the address it maintains for the owner is 
not the owner’s current address.  

In addition, at least 60 days prior to submitting its final 
report, the holder must send a notice by certified mail 
(return receipt requested) to each owner whose name 
is expected to appear on that report with abandoned 
property valued in excess of $1,000 unless contact 
with the owner has been established, the first-class 
mailing was returned as undeliverable or the mailing 
address is outside the United States. 

Electronic Contact 

New York Codes, Rules and Regulations Title 2 Part 
125 

Certain types of electronic contact can be used to 
satisfy the written communication requirements in the 
APL to prevent the property from being deemed 
abandoned. This includes email communication from 
the entitled owner of the property that matches the 
registered email address on record with the holder or 
a verifiable login by the owner using a website or 
mobile application made available by the holder.  

Holders Not Authorized to Conduct 
Business in New York State 

APL Section 1312 

The APL extends statutory coverage to any broker or 
dealer that: 

• Is chartered or organized in another state and 
not authorized to do business in New York and 

• Holds unclaimed property payable to a person 
whose last known address is within New York. 

Such reporting organizations are subject to the same 
statutory reporting requirements as organizations 
doing business in New York. 

Other Property Types 
Brokers and dealers are subject to other statutory 
requirements of the APL. Review the Law to 
determine if any apply to your organization.  

 

https://govt.westlaw.com/nycrr/Document/I10fe1a94f58411eda40fc3646cb5190d?viewType=FullText&originationContext=documenttoc&transitionType=CategoryPageItem&contextData=(sc.Default)&bhcp=1
https://govt.westlaw.com/nycrr/Document/I10fe1a94f58411eda40fc3646cb5190d?viewType=FullText&originationContext=documenttoc&transitionType=CategoryPageItem&contextData=(sc.Default)&bhcp=1


Important Issues 

Dormant Customer Accounts 

Dormant customer accounts are reportable to New 
York State if payable to a resident of this state. Those 
stockbrokers incorporated in New York State are also 
required to remit foreign and unknown resident 
accounts. Dormant accounts held for non-New York 
residents may be subject to the abandoned property 
laws of other states. 

IRA and Keogh Accounts 

In the absence of contact/activity within the last three 
years, report an individual retirement account (IRA) or 
Keogh account in the cut-off year in which the 
account’s owner reached or surpassed the mandatory 
distribution age as prescribed by the IRS. Report an 
educational savings IRA (Coverdell Educational 
Savings Account, CESA) in the cut-off year in which 
the account’s owner reached age 30. For an IRA, if 
you cannot reasonably obtain the owner’s date of 
birth, presume the owner was 21 on the account’s 
opening date. For a CESA, use the account opening 
date as the account owner’s date of birth. 

Reported amounts constitute distributions from the 
IRA. In reporting, use the property type that reflects 
the nature of the account. For example, use 1I if the 
proceeds had been held in a trading or investment 
account. In the Date field, enter the date on which the 
owner reached the age of mandatory distribution. In 
the Description of Security field, enter IRA. This 
clarifies that you are not reporting the account 
prematurely. 

Record Retention 

The law requires that brokers and dealers retain 
records relative to abandoned property filings for a 
period of 10 years following the year in which the 
records were created.

Roth IRA 

While a Roth IRA is not subject to the mandatory 
distribution rules during the original owner’s lifetime, 
confusion may nonetheless exist among both the 
public and the holder community as to the proper 
treatment of this product with respect to the reporting 
requirements of the APL. Accordingly, for the purpose 
of consistency, OUF will not penalize reporting 
organizations for treating a Roth IRA in the same 
manner as the traditional IRA and reporting a Roth 
IRA in the year the owner reaches the age of 
mandatory distribution. 

Uncashed Checks 

Uncashed checks issued by brokers to their 
customers or other brokers in payment of dividends, 
bond interest, principal, or other customer credit 
balances are reportable to New York if payable to a 
resident of this state. Additionally, if a broker 
incorporated in New York issues checks to foreign 
and unknown owners, they are reportable to New 
York. Since the funds represent amounts due to 
customers, a three-year dormancy period applies. 

Unclaimed Overpayments – Dividends, 
Interest and Securities 

Brokerage firms incorporated in New York and New 
York partnerships are required to report all unclaimed 
overpayment amounts and securities held for 
unknown owners. A three-year dormancy period 
applies. Such amounts held by a non-New York 
corporation or partnership are reportable to the 
holder’s state of incorporation. 

Underlying Shares  
Shares of stock that have been issued by a business 
association, or a banking or financial organization. 
The original certificate for the shares is in the 
possession of the shareholders, who have failed to 
either cash the dividend checks or correspond with 
the issuing corporation.  

 

  



Mailing Requirements 

First Class and Certified Mailings 
Section 1422 of the APL requires that all organizations do the following: 

• At least 90 days prior to their final report/remittance date, send a notice by first-class mail to each owner 
whose name is expected to appear on that report unless: 
o The address for the owner is unknown, 
o The holder can demonstrate that the address it maintains for the owner is not the owner’s current 

address, or 
 Note – if you use an address validation service and find a new address for the owner, you may 

send the notice to the new address but you should not change the original address on your report 
or books and records. 

o The items to be reported are valued at $20 or less and are being reported in the aggregate, in which 
case the owner’s name will not appear on the report, therefore mailing a notice is not required. 

And 

• At least 60 days prior to their final report/remittance date, send a notice by certified mail, return receipt 
requested, to each owner whose name is expected to appear on that report with abandoned property valued 
in excess of $1,000 unless: 
o A claim has been initiated since the first-class mailing was sent, or 
o The first-class mailing was returned as undeliverable, or 
o The last known address is outside of the United States. 

• In the calendar year prior to reporting the funds, send a certified mailing to account owners of dormant 
dividend reinvestment plans or mutual funds (book entry).

 

Costs 

You may deduct the mailing costs for certified mail. 
Deduct such charges from each item for which you 
are mailing the notice, or one item if you are 
combining similar items for a specific owner into one 
item. You may not make a bulk deduction against the 
final remittance. The costs for completing the first-
class mailing requirement cannot be offset.  

Foreign Address 
Exercise due caution in attempting to contact entitled 
owners who reside in politically sensitive countries as 
defined by the U.S. Department of Treasury’s Office 
of Foreign Assets Control. Certified mailing 
requirements do not apply to residents of foreign 
countries. Address any questions pertaining to this 
subject to our Director of Audits. 

Multiple Items 
Where feasible, if you are reporting more than one 
item for the same customer, one letter should address 
all of the items you are reporting. 

Multiple Owners 
For cases in which multiple owners of an item have 
different addresses, you must send a letter to each 
owner. You may deduct the additional costs of mailing 
a certified notice to more than one address. 

Wages and Dividend Reinvestment 
Accounts – Article V 
Article V requires you to send notification to the 
apparent owners of securities that are enrolled in 
reinvestment plans. This notification, which is to 
be sent via certified mail, return receipt 
requested, must advise owners that in the 
absence of establishing written communication 
with the holder their securities will be delivered to 
the State Comptroller as abandoned property. A 
return receipt signed by the owner of the 
property is considered contact. 

Additionally, Article V stipulates, that owners of 
unclaimed wages be notified at the last known 
address of record via first class mail. 

In either of the above cases, the notifications 
must be sent in the calendar year prior to the 
year in which you are required to deliver the 
property to the State Comptroller. You may not 
deduct the cost of sending these notifications 
from the value of the abandoned property



Remittance
Submit your remittance at the time you file a report. The remittance should be equal to the sum of the values of 
the accounts being reported to the Office of the State Comptroller. Pay your remittance by electronic transfer, 
check, or by using the Security Delivery Instructions. 

Electronic Funds Transfer 
Electronic funds transfer is available to make payment of the amount due for your report of abandoned property. Find 
instructions including the account and routing number information in the Electronic Funds Transfer Instructions. 

Checks 

Make checks payable to Comptroller, State of New York. You should mail it to the following address: 

New York State Office of the State Comptroller 
Office of Unclaimed Funds 
Remittance Control, 2nd floor 
110 State Street 
Albany, New York 12236 

Include the letters ‘OUF’ and the Date/Time stamp in the memo and advice areas of your check if you sent your 
report account details using one of our electronic reporting methods. This will help us apply your funds correctly. 

In accordance with OUF’s internal control procedures, send all payments to the above address. Do not send any 
checks to our New York City office. 

Securities 

Deliver securities to the Comptroller using the most current instructions available. They are updated regularly on 
our website; find the most current version in Security Delivery Instructions. 

 

Security Delivery Instructions 
You must deliver all reported security positions to the Office of Unclaimed Funds’ (OUF) custodian at the time you file 
the abandoned property report. 

Remove restricted legends from securities (in any form) before delivery. If a restricted legend must remain on the 
security, the reporting organization must provide detailed instructions including the type of restriction and applicable 
restriction dates. 

To deliver securities to the OUF, follow the OUF security delivery instructions and use one of the approved delivery 
methods. 

https://www.osc.ny.gov/unclaimed-funds/reporters/electronic-fund-transfer-instructions
https://www.osc.ny.gov/unclaimed-funds/reporters/security-delivery-instructions
https://www.osc.ny.gov/unclaimed-funds/reporters/security-delivery-instructions


Schedule of Events for Article V-A 

December 10 
By this date: 

• Send a notice by first-class mail to each person or entity whose name appears on your report of 
abandoned property and request a signed written statement from the owner that acknowledges the 
property’s existence. This requirement does not apply to those accounts that meet the exclusionary 
provisions of §1422. 

• Advise and educate internal staff about the due diligence notices for effective processing when the 
rightful owner contacts your organization. 

• Reactivate all accounts of owners who respond to the notice or otherwise establish contact. Do not 
include these accounts on your report. 

Prior to December 31 
Send certified mail to each owner of securities in a dividend reinvestment plan or mutual funds (book entry) 
requesting written communication to keep the items active. 

December 31 
For the purposes of reporting abandoned property, a broker or dealer’s year runs from January 1 through 
December 31. December 31 is the cut-off or ending date for the reporting period. Use it when identifying 
abandoned accounts/items. 

January 1 through March 10 
During this period, review your records and collect data related to any account/item that may be dormant and 
subject to reporting. 

If you find accounts/items subject to reporting:  

• Update your report as necessary to reflect any activity that has occurred. 
• Compile the data in one of our reporting formats so that you may submit it as your final report. 

If you do not have any items subject to reporting: 

• Keep a record of your review. 
• Do not send preliminary or negative (zero balance) reports. 

January 10 
By this date: 

• If an owner has not responded to the first-class mailing, or if the first-class mailing was not returned as 
undeliverable and the value of all unclaimed funds held for the owner exceeds $1,000, you are required 
to send a second notification via certified mail, return receipt requested, if the address for the owner is 
within the United States. 
o You may charge the cost of the certified mailing against the property’s value. 

• Reactivate all accounts of owners who respond to the mailing. Do not include these accounts on your 
report 
o Note: we consider a return receipt to be customer contact if the receipt bears the signature of the 

account owner. Verify return receipt signatures against the other signature records you may have 
for an owner. 

On or before March 10 
• Finalize the report. 
• Arrange for payment. 
• Report, payment, and a Verification and Checklist to be received in our office by the close 

of business on March 10. 
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